Skip to main content area
 
Left Navigation
Main Content Area

Monument Detail

Search Again

Old Rectory site and other earthworks, Eastnor

SMR Number
: 12468
Grid Reference
: SO 73137 37150
Parish
: EASTNOR, HEREFORDSHIRE

Field just W of church on enclosure award of 1816 is called "Bury Field". This is now the site of the Old Rectory House but in 1509 & 1531 the bishop granted leases of "the site of his manor of Estnore called the Bury Court" is this the location for the bishops manor? The field to the S of the church is very humpy & in the enclosure award is shown as the site of the rectory. The state of the field must be accounted for by the Old Rectory, demolished in the C19. (1)
The old rectory was situated immediately to S of the churchyard, below the pond to the E of Home Farm (Eastnor Farm (HWCM 5083: probably "Bury Court"). Demolished in 1849 when the present rectory was built. Almost adj the old rectory there formerly stood a mill (HWCM 9190). The site of the rectory shows as various earthworks. (References 1-3 in HWCM 9190)
Site visit with owner in 1996. Site of Old Rectory identified immediately adjacent to churchyard. Outflow from pond (HWCM 9190) separates this area from platforms further to south. Sketch plan of earthworks. (2)

Monument Type(s)

  1. SHRUNKEN VILLAGE (Medieval - 1066 AD to 1539 AD)
  2. VICARAGE (Post Medieval - 1540 AD to 1900 AD)

Associated Files

Sources and Further Reading

Protected status

  1. Conservation Area: Eastnor

Associated Historic Landscape Character Records

  1. HHE377 - Small Compass Enclosure of the Landscape - Reconfiguration of Former Wood Pasture