Skip to main content area
 
Left Navigation
Main Content Area

Monument Detail

Search Again

Godwin Tile Works (1st), from 1849

SMR Number
: 11862
Grid Reference
: SO 551 413
Parish
: LUGWARDINE, HEREFORDSHIRE

Brickworks & tile factory established by William Godwin 1848. Offices still stand now converted into 2 cottages. Behind them is a row of low brick built sheds which were originally workers houses. (1)
Full description of business. (2) Brickyard Cottage rebuilt in 1990s from original bricks on site. Fairview House is the original site building, now in 2003, it is a dwelling. (3) A small brickworks had operated in Lugwardine since the early 1800s, William Godwin, a brickmaker previously working in Ledbury, bought the lease in 1849. He employed ten labourers. Henry Godwin joined his brother in 1852 after working in the Worcester Porcelain Company and the company began to make decorative tiles. The business made a lot of money and William Godwin was able to buy Porch House, Lugwardine with a considerable amount of land, including the tile works. In 1861 he bought the Withington works (SMR 11863). (4)

Monument Type(s)

  1. TILE WORKS (19th Century - 1801 AD to 1900 AD)
  2. TILE KILN (19th Century - 1801 AD to 1900 AD)
  3. BRICKWORKS (19th Century - 1801 AD to 1900 AD)

Associated Files

Sources and Further Reading

Protected status

  1. Conservation Area: Lugwardine

Associated Historic Landscape Character Records

  1. HHE338 - Enclosure of Common Arable Fields - Narrow Closes in Widely Spaced Groups