Chapel, Lower Brockhampton
- SMR Number
- : 938
- Grid Reference
- : SO 6871 5603
: BROCKHAMPTON (BROMYARD), HEREFORDSHIRE
Chapel (dedication unknown). Walls of local sandstone rubble and much tufa, dressings of same material. Chancel and nave without structural division date from C12. Probably disused since 1790 when new chapel built in Brockhampton Park. Now roofless and ruined. Full description. (1)
Walls of roofless chapel renovated. (2)
The ancient font still lies in the derelict chapel. It is cut from one piece of stone, the upper part in an octagon and the lower part in a bowl shape. It is probably of the same date as the east and west windows, ie c.1400. (4)
Plan, sketches and description. (5)
Scheduled Monument Consent granted for protective work, 25/05/2010. (6)
Geophysical survey carried out in 2003 to the north of the chapel recorded a series of anomalies which may relate to burials. (7)
The fabric is of more complex build than allowed in the 1932 RCHME account, with large blocks of tufa and of dressed limestone, along with narrow carefully laid courses of almost purple red sandstone and patches of coursed limestone amid an otherwise rubble build. This complexity, and particularly a different build in the lower courses that those higher up in each elevation, especially on the southern elevation, suggests the possibility of a pre-mid-12th century phase to the structure.(8)(9)
In June 2015 as part of the National Trust's "Summer of Archaeology" project at Lower Brockhampton geophysical survey was carried out in the area to the north of the chapel. A number of anomalies were identified and these were the focus of a campaign of excavation carried out in July 2015 (see EHE80172). (10)
- CHAPEL (Medieval - 1066 AD to 1539 AD)
Sources and Further Reading
Bibliographic reference: Royal Commission on Historical Monuments. 1932. Inventory of Monuments, Herefordshire East, Vol II. Herefordshire East, Volume II. II,32.
Unpublished Report: Ray, Keith. 2010. The Brockhampton Estate, Bromyard: Archaeological Survey, 2003. Herefordshire Archaeology. 71.
Document: English Heritage. 2010. Letter granting Scheduled Monument Consent for proposed works at Chapel and Gatehouse, Brockhampton.
Bibliographic reference: Woolhope Naturalists' Field Club. 2003. Transactions of the Woolhope Naturalists' Field Club. Volume 51. 2003.
Unpublished Report: Lello, Richard and Williams, David. 2011. Lower Brockhampton: A Survey of the Moated Site Complex, Bromyard, Herefordshire. Herefordshire Archaeology. 99.
Unpublished Report: National Trust. 2015. The summer of Archaeology. Lower Brockhampton, Brockhampton Estate: A Geophysical Survey..
Scheduling record: English Heritage. 09/1987. Schedule. Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission (English Heritage).
Bibliographic reference: Ordnance Survey Record Card. 1970. SO65NE2. Ordnance Survey.
Document: Kay, R. 03/1950. MS Notes on Lower Brockhampton Chapel.
Article in serial: Marshall, G. 1951. Fonts in Herefordshire, Part III. Transactions of the Woolhope Naturalists' Field Club. Pages 75.
Earthwork and Geophysical Survey, Moated Site Complex, Lower Brockhampton, 2003
Archaeological Survey, Brockhampton Estate, Bromyard, 2003/2010 (Ref: SMR Event: 51621)
National Trust Summer of Archaeology Community Excavation, Lower Brockhampton, 2015
Geophysical Survey, Lower Brockhampton, 2015
Scheduled Monument 67: Chapel and gatehouse
Listed Building (II*) 150964: REMAINS OF CHAPEL NORTH WEST OF LOWER BROCKHAMPTON FARMHOUSE
Associated Historic Landscape Character Records
Small Compass Enclosure of the Landscape - Estate Division