- SMR Number
- : 480
- Grid Reference
- : SO 66114 33254
: MUCH MARCLE, HEREFORDSHIRE
T shaped plan with cross wing at N end. Lower part of W end of cross wing is part LC15 - EC16 house, but rest of building was reconstructed probably in LC16 & formed part of larger house that extended further to S & W. Reduced in size 1641 & again LC18. Good example of LC16 brickwork (1)(2)
MM could boast 2 residences Ellingham & Mortimers Castle... Etymology Hellings family of Heiling (Helyon), owners of manor of Westhide till C15. Hellens aquired by Walwyns. Blount suggests that tempe Ed III owned by Audleys. ... Family history. Site of castle says Blount is place not far from town, now overgrown with wood & called Quarry Wood. (3)
Sketch decayed 1619. Subs restored by Fulke Walwyn date 1640. (4)
Blount account its high claims to antiq not evident. (5) The Story of Hellens. Main house 1451 made of bricks made on site, expertise brought over from Flanders. The dovecote used to be the tower of the castle, it was renovated in 1641 and converted to a dovecote. In 1789 the south wing was built, also using local clay. (6) Photos of the house brick and dovecote bricks, brickfield, and claypit. C14th brick from dovecote 300 x 50 x 120mm. Sample brick from 1620 obtained. (7). (8) (9) Details of account book of John Noble of Hellens at the end of the 17th century.(10)
Historic farm recorded as part of the Herefordshire Historic Farmsteads Characterisation Project. Present on the Ordnance Survey First Edition, Pre-WW2 and Modern maps. (11)
2008 Aerial Photography Survey, N. Rimmington, HAAS-08-02 (12) (13)
- HOUSE (15th Century - 1401 AD to 1500 AD)
- CASTLE (Medieval - 1066 AD to 1539 AD)
- FARM (Post Medieval - 1540 AD to 1900 AD)
Sources and Further Reading
Bibliographic reference: Robinson, Rev C J. 1867. The Castles of Herefordshire and Their Lords.
Bibliographic reference: Robinson, Rev C J. 1872. A History of the Mansions and Manors of Herefordshire.
Bibliographic reference: Tonkin, J. 1969. Buildings. Transactions of the Woolhope Naturalists' Field Club. XXXIX 1969 Part III. Pages 485.
Bibliographic reference: Royal Commission on Historical Monuments. 1932. Inventory of Monuments, Herefordshire East, Vol II. Herefordshire East, Volume II. II,131.
Bibliographic reference: Munthe, Malcolm. 1957. Hellens. The Story of a Herefordshire Manor. book by occupant of Hellens.
Document: Davey, Eddie. 2003. Notes to the SMR. Notes to the SMR.
Aerial Photograph: Musson, C R. 16/02/2001. 01-MB-0062. Chris Musson AP collection.
Bibliographic reference: Morgan, F.C.. 1945. The Accounts for the years 1691 to 1694 of John Noble, Mercer, of Hellens. Transactions of the Woolhope Naturalists' Field Club. XXXI 1944 and 1945 Part III. 201-210. XXXI 1944 and 1945 Part III. Pages 201.
Unpublished Report: Preece, Natalie. 2008. Herefordshire Historic Farmsteads Characterisation Project Stage 1.. Herefordshire Archaeology.
Aerial Photograph: Rimmington, N. 30/07/2008. HAAS-08-02-D-029. Herefordshire Aerial Archaeological Survey 2008. Oblique. Digital.
Aerial Photograph: Rimmington, N. 30/07/2008. HAAS-08-02-D-030. Herefordshire Aerial Archaeological Survey 2008. Oblique. Digital.
Bibliographic reference: Cooke, William Henry. 1882. Collections towards the history and antiquities of the county of Herefordshire in continuation of Duncumb's History; Vol 3 Greytree Hundred. Book in Hereford Library. III.
Bibliographic reference: Ordnance Survey Record Card. 1972. SO63SE7. Ordnance Survey.
Listed Building (II) 152725: WAINHOUSE ABOUT 60 YARDS WEST OF HELLENS
Listed Building (II) 152722: CIDER HOUSE ABOUT 40 YARDS SOUTH WEST OF HELLENS
Conservation Area: Much Marcle
Listed Building (II*) 152718: HELLENS
Listed Building (II) 152721: BARN AND ATTACHED COW SHELTER ABOUT 45 YARDS WEST OF HELLENS
Associated Historic Landscape Character Records
Small Compass Enclosure of the Landscape - Regularly Planned