St Mary, Church (ruin), Edvin Loach
- SMR Number
- : 1154
- Grid Reference
- : SO 6627 5844
: EDVIN LOACH AND SALTMARSHE, HEREFORDSHIRE
Stands to east of modern church. Parts of east, north and south walls date from latter part of C11. West tower added and upper part of the west wall rebuilt, probably in C16; the north wall of the chancel was rebuilt perhaps at the same period. Church has become complete ruin in recent years and former south porch has disappeared. Herringbone masonry of interest. (1)
Early 12th century font in pieces. Carved chevron decoration. The bowl is more recent, perhaps dating to the 18th century. (2)
Norman or seemingly earlier, of two different periods. Nave mainly herringbone, while chancel is coursed rubble with Norman east window. (3)
Deterioration since RCHM report is most noticeable with the windows - only the lower parts remain in situ. Since ivy cleared more of walls can be seen. The church's history is perhaps more complex than the RCHM suggested. Appears both north and south walls have three building periods (4)
Formerly County Monument no 128. Full description. (5)
Members of the archaeology section of the Woolhope Club visited the site, 20/09/92. They discussed the possibility that the ruined church and the current church (SMR 1364) could be in the ruin of a possible south bailey of a castle with a ditch or palisade between the two churches. (6)
The font appears to have been removed some time before October 1986 (possibly before 1979). (7)
- CHURCH (Medieval - 1066 AD to 1539 AD)
Sources and Further Reading
Scheduling record: English Heritage Scheduling Section. 1997. Schedule Entry. English Heritage.
Unpublished Report: Shoesmith, Ron; Boulton. 1978. Old Church of St Mary, Edvin Loach.. City of Hereford Archaeology Committee.
Bibliographic reference: Taylor, H M and Taylor, J. 1965. A S Architecture, Volume 2. 718. 2,718.
Bibliographic reference: Royal Commission on Historical Monuments. 1932. Inventory of Monuments, Herefordshire East, Vol II. Herefordshire East, Volume II. II,75.
Bibliographic reference: 31/10/1986. DOE Scheduled Ancient Monument report, Old Church of St Mary's, Edvin Loach. SMR.
Article in serial: Skelton, R and Stirling-Brown, R. 1993. Field Meeting at Upper Sapey. Herefordshire Archaeological News No. 59. 10-14. Page 12.
Article in serial: Marshall, George. 1950. Fonts in Herefordshire, Part II. Transactions of the Woolhope Naturalists' Field Club. Pages 25-26.
Listed Building (II) 151186: RUINS OF OLD CHURCH OF ST MARY
Scheduled Monument 27539: MOTTE AND BAILEY CASTLE AND ST MARY'S OLD CHURCH
Associated Historic Landscape Character Records
Adaptation of Earlier Enclosure System - Former Common Arable Fields - L2 Linking Type